Press Releases

التوقيق النظمية النظمية النظمية النظمية المعلمة المعلمة المعلمة المعلمة المعلمة المعلمة المعلمة المعلمة المعلمة Appointments to the Family Council

The Government announced today (March 20) the re-appointment of Professor Daniel Shek Tan-lei as Chairman of the Family Council (the Council), as well as the re-appointment of 12 incumbent members and appointment of two new members to the Council for a period of two years with effect from April 1, 2015.

Professor Shek was appointed by the Chief Executive as the first non-official Chairman of the Council on April 1, 2013. Since then, under Professor Shek's able leadership, the Council has taken proactive steps in advising bureaux/departments on the application of family perspectives in the policy-making process, as well as organising various publicity programmes to create a pro-family environment. Professor Shek is currently the Associate Vice President (Undergraduate Programme) and Chair Professor of Applied Social Sciences at Hong Kong Polytechnic University. Membership of the Council comprises official members, nonofficial members from various backgrounds, and the Chairpersons of the Commission on Youth, the Elderly Commission and the Women's Commission as ex-officio members.

The Home Affairs Bureau thanked the two outgoing members, Dr Maggie Koong May-kay and Professor Terry Au Kit-fong for their invaluable contributions and dedication to the work of the Council over the past years.

The membership list of the Council for the new term is as follows:

Chairman -----Professor Daniel Shek Tan-lei

Ex-officio Members

Mr Lau Ming-wai, Chairperson of the Commission on Youth Professor Alfred Chan Cheung-ming, Chairperson of the Elderly Commission Mrs Stella Lau Kun Lai-kuen, Chairperson of the Women's Commission

Non-official Members (re-appointments)

Mrs Patricia Chu Yeung Pak-yu Professor Lam Tai-hing Ms Lilian Law Suk-kwan Mr Lee Luen-fai Dr Eddy Li Sau-hung Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo Miss Phoebe Tang Pui-yee Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on Ms Peggy Wong Pik-kiu Miss Gabriella Wong Siu-ling Ms Irene Yau Oi-yuen Mr Ivan Yiu Tze-leung Non-official Members (new appointments) Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming Ms Yip Lai-wa Official Members _____ Secretary for Home Affairs, or his representative Secretary for Labour and Welfare, or his representative Secretary for Education, or his representative

Head of Central Policy Unit, or his representative

Since its establishment in 2007, the Council has been

serving as a cross-sector and cross-bureau platform for examining family-related policies and promoting a culture of loving families in the community.

Ends/Friday, March 20, 2015 Issued at HKT 17:16

NNNN

🗐 Print this page

News Archives | Yesterday's News